City Layout

Cathedral Square (also known as The Square) is the center point, around which the main roads are laid out in a grid system, surrounded by four main avenues— Bealey, Moorehouse, Deans, and Fitzgerald. The winding Avon River meanders 24km (15 miles) from the west of Christchurch, through the city and out to sea.

The Port Hills, south of the city, are an ever-present landmark from which you can always get your bearings. Colombo Street is the main street running north-south to the Port Hills.

Was this article helpful?

0 0

Post a comment